How to Delete GroupMe Messages or Clear Chat History

Maybe you’re trying to free up some storage on your phone, or maybe you just want to start fresh with a new conversation. No matter what your reason is, we’ll show you how to delete GroupMe messages and clear the chat history in this tutorial.
how to delete groupme messages

How to Delete GroupMe Messages One at a Time

If you want to delete a message or several messages without deleting the entire chat history, you can do so. How to delete GroupMe messages individually? Here are the steps:

  1. Select the group or chat you want to delete messages from.
  2. Tap and hold on the message you want to delete until options appear. Alternatively, you can click the three dots next to the message.
  3. Select “Delete.” You’ll be asked to confirm that you want to delete the message.
  4. Click “Delete” again to confirm. The message will be deleted from the chat history.

You can only delete your messages within 60 minutes of sending them. If you do, other people in the chat won’t be able to see the messages you’ve deleted. A notification will show in the place of the message, saying that it’s been deleted.

How to Hide Messages in GroupMe

What if 60 minutes have already passed, and you want to delete a message? If this is the case, you’ll have to hide the message instead. It will no longer be visible to you, but others will still be able to see it. To hide messages in GroupMe, here are the steps:

  1. Open the GroupMe app and enter the group chat with the message.
  2. Tap and hold or right-click on the message you want to hide.
  3. Select “Hide” or “Hide Message,” depending on what you see.
READ ABOUT:  Short and Sweet Guide on How to Connect a Mouse to a Mac

It’s probably not what you were looking for when you searched “how to delete GroupMe messages,” but it’s the next best thing. You’ll be able to clean up your chat history without affecting anyone else in the conversation. You can also undo this action by opening the group settings and selecting “Unhide hidden messages.”

Can you hide an entire chat? Yes, you can! Just go to the chat settings and select “Hide this chat.” This will archive the conversation, but it won’t delete it. You can always go back and unarchive the chat later from the More > Archive menu if you need to.

How to Clear Your Entire GroupMe Chat History

Clearing your GroupMe chat history is a little more permanent than just deleting messages on GroupMe one at a time or hiding them. When you clear your GroupMe chat history, it will delete all messages in the chat, including any shared photos and videos. It’s a good idea to back up your chat history before you do this, just in case you want to refer back to it later.

How to delete GroupMe messages using this option? First, open the chat history you want to clear. Then, click on the three dots in the top-right corner and select “Clear Chat History.” You’ll be asked to confirm that you want to do this. Once you click “Clear” or “Yes,” the chat will be erased and you won’t be able to get it back!

We hope this guide was helpful and that you were able to clean up your messaging app successfully. If you have any other questions, feel free to leave them in the comments below.

READ ABOUT:  How to Turn Off Dark Mode on Mac? An Easy Guide

Similar Posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous Article
how to unmerge cells in excel

How to Unmerge Cells in Excel After Merging Them – Handy Shortcuts

Next Article
how to turn off caps lock on chromebook

How to Turn Off Caps Lock on Chromebook? Keyboard Shortcuts & Settings

Related Posts