Will Deleting an Album Also Delete the Photos in It?
Before we discuss how to delete albums on iPhone, let’s clear up a common misconception. When you delete an album, it won’t delete the photos inside of it. The photos will still be saved in your “Photos” app. However, they will no longer be organized into an album.
Whether that’s good news or not depends on your intentions. If you’re trying to free up space on your iPhone by deleting old photos, then you’re out of luck. Deleting an album won’t delete the photos inside it. You’ll need to find them in the general library and delete them one by one, or plug your iPhone into a computer and delete them that way.
On the other hand, if you’re trying to delete an album that you only created for organizational purposes, then you can rest assured knowing that your photos are safe. Now that we’ve got that out of the way, let’s move on to how you can delete albums on your Apple device.
How to Delete Albums on iPhone: 5 Steps
Deleting an album on your iPhone is a pretty simple process, but it’s not immediately obvious how to do it. Follow these steps and you’ll have it deleted in no time:
- Open the “Photos” app and go to the “Albums” tab at the bottom of the screen.
- Tap the “See All” button at the top of the screen.
- Tap “Edit” in the upper-right corner.
- Tap the red minus sign next to the album you want to delete.
- Tap “Delete Album” and “Done” to confirm.
And that’s all there is to it! You’ve learned how to delete albums on iPhone. Once you’ve deleted the album, it will no longer show up in your “Albums” menu. However, the photos inside of it will still be accessible from the “Photos” tab. If you want to delete those as well, you’ll need to do it from there.
Is Deleting Photo Albums on iPhone Permanent?
Yes, deleting an album on your iPhone is a permanent action. Once you delete an album, it cannot be recovered. So if you accidentally delete an album that you didn’t mean to, there’s no way to get it back except by assembling the photos into a new album.
Of course, you can always restore your iPhone from a backup if you’ve deleted an album and then regretted it later. But that’s a pretty drastic measure just to get an album back. It’s much easier (and less time-consuming) to just create a new album.
Why Can’t I Delete an Album From My iPhone?
If you’re trying to delete an album and you don’t see the option to do so, it’s likely because the album is synced from iTunes. Albums that are linked with iTunes or iCloud cannot be deleted directly from your iPhone. However, you can still delete them by opening up iTunes on your computer and deleting them from there.
Besides, you can’t delete default albums such as Screenshots or Selfies. These are curated by the iOS Photos app and cannot be removed. The steps we outlined before only work for albums that you created yourself by tapping the plus button and adding photos to them.
Delete Some Albums and Enjoy Your Organized Photos App
We hope this article has helped you understand how to delete albums on iPhone. Now that you know how to do it, feel free to go through your albums and delete any that you don’t need anymore. A little bit of housekeeping can go a long way in making the “Photos” app more enjoyable to use.
Did this article help you? If you have any more questions about how to use the “Photos” app, be sure to ask in the comments below and we’ll do our best to answer them. And if you know of any other tips or tricks for managing photos on iPhone, we would love to hear about them as well!